Sappers clinch George Hoover Cup

Sappers clinch George Hoover Cup

Newly crowned BDFA Super Division champions Madras Engineer Group (MEG) clinched the George Hoover Cup with a 2-0 win over Students Union at the Bangalore Football Stadium here on Sunday.

Faizal opened the scoring in the 14th minute and Ramu added another in the 28th as MEG emerged comfortable winners in a one-off match between the winners and runners-up of the just concluded Super Division league. Jawahar Union claimed the Mirza Shair Ali Cup after beating the ‘A’ Division champions Bangalore Independents 1-0.

Meanwhile, Dada Nabeel of AGORC emerged as the Super Division league’s top scorer with eight goals while Army Service Corps’ Jotin Singh, Emmanuel of Students Union and South United’s Subash with seven goals each shared the second spot. Nardesh, also of Students Union, was named the best  goalkeeper. The best playermaker award went to Sukesh Leon of MEG.

Kevin of Jawahar Union emerged as the  top scorer of ‘A’ Division with 12 goals. The best playmaker award was given to Karthick of Bangalore Independents.

Results: MEG: 2 (Faizal 14th, Ramu 28th) bt Students Union: 0; Bangalore Independents: 0 lt to Jawahar Union: 1 (Jonathan 14th).

Individual awards: Super Division: Best goalkeeper: Nardesh (Students Union); Best goal scored: Nanda (Students Union); Best playmaker: Sukesh Leon (MEG); Top scorer: Dada Nabeeel (AGORC): 8.

‘A’ Division: Best goalkeeper: Kevin (Jawahar Union); Best goal scored: Damodaran (Bangalore Eagles); Best playmaker: Karthick (Bangalore Independents); Top Scorer: Nihal (Jawahar Union): 12