Chopra sets javelin record

Chopra sets javelin record

Athletics- Federation Cup

Young sensation Neeraj Chopra set a new meet record in javelin on the second day of the Federation Cup at the NIS ground on Friday.

Chopra, who has already qualified for the World Championships in London, had a best throw of 85.63 metres which came in his first attempt itself. The 20-year-old from Haryana had a series of 80-plus throws and he bettered the meet record of 79.65 set by Davinder Singh in 2015. Davinder, who has also qualified for the Worlds, came second with a throw of 83.82 followed by Abishek Singh who recorded 77 metres.

In men’s shot put, Punjab’s Tajinder Pal Singh Toor came close to qualifying for the Worlds by reaching 20.40M. The entry standard stood at 20.50. Om Prakash Singh, the national record holder at 20.69M, managed only 19.30 for the bronze while Jasdeep Singh Dhillon (19.46) claimed the silver.

On a day of some stunning performances, Andhra Pradesh’s Nayana James dazzled in women’s long jump. Nayana, the inter-university champion this year with a personal best of 6.07, stretched that a long way by posting 6.55M to win the gold. She was just four centimetres behind Anju Bobby George’s meet record of 6.59M set in 2002. Kerala’s Neena V, the favourite, had to settle for the silver at 6.31. Neena had done 6.66 last year in Bengaluru while attempting to qualify for the Rio Olympics.

In the women’s 800M, favourite Tintu Luka stumbled and fell past the 300-metre mark and had to be hospitalised. The heat seemed to have affected her. She was discharged later. The race was won by Maharahstra’s Archana Adhav followed by Lili Das and Karnataka’s GK Vijayakumari.

The timings were ordinary in the men’s and women’s 200M sprints. Odisha’s Amiya Kumar Mallick clocked 21.22 seconds to win the men’s gold while in the women’s section, Odisha’s seasoned Srabani Nanda (23.57), fresh from her seven months training stint at Kingston, beat state-mate Dutee Chand by 0.03 seconds (23.60) and Karnataka’s HM Jyothi (24.37) to start her season on a positive note.

Delhi’s Amoj Jacob won the men’s 800 metres in 1:50.54 seconds, edging past Kerala’s Rio Olympian Jinson Johnson (1:50.83) and Karnataka’s Vishwambhar Kolekar (1:50.92).

 Ankit Sharma jumped 7.80 metres to beat Karnataka’s SE Samsheer (7.67) and Siddharth Mohan Naik (7.66) in the men’s long jump.

Men: 200M: Amiya Kumar Mallick (Odisha) 21:22 seconds, 1; Sanjeet (Haryana) 21.43, 2; Vamsi Praveen 21.78. 3.

800M: Amoj Jacob (Delhi) 1:50.54 seconds, 1; Jinson Jonson (Kerala) 1:50.83, 2; Vishwambhar Kolekar 1:50.92, 3.

Long jump: Ankit Sharma (Madhya Pradesh) 7.80 metres, 1; S E Samsheer (Karnataka) 7.67, 2; Siddharth Mohan Naik (Karnataka) 7.66, 3.  

Shot put: Tajinder Pal Singh Toor (Punjab) 20.40 metres, 1; Jasdeep Singh Dhillon (Punjab) 19.46, 2; Om Prakash Singh Karhana (Haryana) 19.30, 3.
Javelin throw: Neeraj Chopra (Haryana) 85.63 metres, 1; Davinder Singh (Punjab) 83.82, 2; Abhishek Singh (Uttar Pradesh) 77.0, 3.

Decathlon: Jagtar Singh (Rajasthan) 6267 points, 1; Abhishek Shetty (Karnataka) 6194, 2; Amolak Singh (Punjab) 6108, 3.  

Women: 200M: Srabani Nanda (Odisha) 23.57 seconds, 1; Dutee Chand (Odisha) 23.60, 2; H M Jyothi (Karnataka) 24.37, 3.

800M: Archana Adhav (Maharashtra) 2:05.66 seconds, 1; Lili Das (West Bengal) 2:05.93, 2; Vijayakumari GK (Karnataka) 2:07.37, 3.

Long jump: Nayana James (Andhra Pradesh) 6.55 metres, 1; Neena V (Kerala) 6.31, 2; G Karthika (Tamil Nadu) 6.05, 3. 

20Km walk: Karamjit Kaur (Punjab) 1:40:01 68, 1; Soumya B (Delhi) 1:41:03.16, 2; Rani Yadav (Uttar Pradesh) 1:42:22.32, 3.