Bonallack Trophy comes to B'lore

Bonallack Trophy comes to B'lore

KGA to play host to amateur event

The three-day biannual event, conceptualized by Bonallack himself, pits a 12-member team of best amateur golfers from Europe against Asia/Pacific in matchplay format.

“It is indeed great news that KGA is hosting an event of this magnitude,” said Sumit Rathor, Captain of KGA. “Many of the top amateur golfers from the world will be seen competing and the event being an international one, it is indeed a pleasure to host it,” added Rathor.

Kick-started in 1998 at Perth by Bonallack — a well-known amateur golfer and administrator — the tournament has alternated between courses in Asia and Europe. Defending champions Europe have lifted the trophy four times while Asia was successful in 2002 and 2004.

Rashid Khan, who will be the lone Indian in the fray at the competition, said he is excited to be part of the event. “I am feeling really great to be a part of the tournament that has featured the likes of Shiv Kapur and Rory McIlroy. KGA is one the most testing courses and hopefully the experience of having played there earlier should help me,” Rashid told Deccan Herald after completing his third round at the SAIL Open in New Delhi.

The tournament will feature four-balls action on April 21 and 22 followed by singles competition on the final day.

Probable teams: Asia: Taizo Kawata (New Zealand, captain), Chien-Yaoo Hung and Chi-Hsien Hsieh (Taiwan), Jordan Sherratt (Australia), Keisuke Otawa (Japan), Han Chang-Won and Kim Meen Whee (South Korea), Mhark Fernando (Philippines), Peter Spearman-Burn (New Zealand), Rashid Khan (India), Woo Ke-Jun Jonathan (Singapore), Yuki Usami (Japan), Zhang Xinjun (China).

Europe: Andrew B Morgan (Wales, captain), Carlos Pigem (Spain), James Byrne and Ross Kellet  (Scotland), Jesper Kennegard (Sweden), Johann Lopez-Lazaro and Romain Wattel (France), Kalle Samooja (Finland), Knut Borsheim (Norway), Matt Haines and Tommy Flettwood (England), Max Kieffer (Germany), Paul Cutler (Ireland).