Bharath, Kaveri clinch 200M gold; Devaiah wins 800M

Bharath, Kaveri clinch 200M gold; Devaiah wins 800M

Bharath L of St Joseph’s College of Commerce (SJCC) and Kaveri L of Kempegowda Institute of Management Studies & Research (KIMSR) bagged the 200M gold in the men’s and women’s categories respectively on day one of the Bangalore University 53rd inter-college athletic championship at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium here on Tuesday.

In the men’s 200M, Bharath clocked 21.5 seconds to finish ahead of Rahul DR (22.4) of Seshadripuram College and Prakyath (22.6) of Al-Ameen College.

Kaveri timed 25.6 seconds to beat Lopamudra Thimmaiah (27.6) of Seshadripuram College  and Kavya S (27.9) of SSMRV College in the women’s 200M race.

Devaiah TM of Al-Ameen College claimed top honours in the men’s 800M. He covered the distance in 1:55.2 seconds to pip Mokshith S (1:57.3) of SIM and Girish V
(2:09.2) of Govt RC College.

DH News Service

Results: Men: 200M: Bharath L (SJCC) 21.5 secs, 1; Rahul DR (Seshadripuram College) 22.4, 2; Prakyath (Al-Ameen College) 22.6, 3.

800M: Devaiah TM (Al-Ameen College) 1:55.2 secs, 1; Mokshith S (SIM) 1:57.3, 2; Girish V (Govt RC College) 2:09.2, 3.

Long jump: Pruthvi Seregar (SIM) 6.68M, 1; Mohd.Roshan Sharief (GFGC Kolar) 6.63M, 2; Sampath PK (Al-Ameen College) 6.47M, 3.

High jump: Md Nasih Pullattuveettil (Kristu Jayanthi College) 1.75M, 1; Shivanand Y (SVRFC, Chandapura) 1.70M, 2; Hematha CV (GFGC, Bangarpet) 1.70M, 3.

Discus throw: Sharath Babu RP (St Claret College) 34.10M, 1; Rahul Ghorai (AIMS) 34.08M, 2; Shabaz Khan (GFGC, Kengeri) 29.7M, 3

Women: 200M: Kaveri L (KIMSR, Bangalore) 25.6, 1; Lopamudra Thimmaiah (Seshadripuram College) 22.4, 2; Kavya S (SSMRV College) 27.9, 3.

800M: Manya KM (SIM) 2:19.4, 1; Bhavana M (GFGCW, Kolar) 2:55.1, 2; Asha (JNC College) 2:55.5, 3.

5000M: Chithra MA (Govt College Women, Kolar) 22:32.3, 1; Vinutha BN (KVCPE) 23:00.5, 2; Ramya P (NMKRV College for Women) 23:38.3, 3.

High jump: Nandini KN (NMKRV College for Women) 1.35M, 1; Pavitra N (JNC College) and Theja PR (KVCPE) 1.30M, 2; Jasmine Jennifer (BCCC) 1.30M, 3.

Shot putt: Nivetha T (Surana College) 12.72M, 1; Shwetha HR (GFGC, Hosakote) 8.46M, 2; Tenzin Nvima (Jyothi Nivas College) 8.40M.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)