BU, ISRO ink MoU for space research chair

Bangalore University will receive a grant of Rs 5.5 lakh from ISRO every year for the next five years. after which the grant will be reviewed, based on performance,
Registrar of Bangalore University, Sanjay Veer Singh said  that the chair will be named the Sir M Visvesvaraya ISRO research chair.

An outstanding scientist will be selected for the post; he will guide the university’s research in the field of space technology.

The chair may be set up at the University Visvesvaraya College of Engineering, or at the Bangalore University’s department of Physics.

Meanwhile, the University has set up a five member Academic Audit Committee to look into the complaints of the B Ed examinations.

The committee will be headed by Professor R M Ranganath, and will look into the reported failure of colleges to complete the syllabus.

At a meeting held on Thursday, the Syndicate also agreed to set up a commission on the marks cards scandal and other examination-related irregularities.

The Syndicate also accepted that the recommendations made by the Local Inquiry Committees regarding fresh affiliation and renewal of affiliation be subjected to an inquiry headed by a retired High Court Judge.

These suggestions were put forth by members Y A Narayana Swamy and D Ayyappa, who were both reportedly rebuffed by the Syndicate recently.

Both, as chairmen of LICs, had recommended affiliations and new courses for colleges that had not even submitted formal applications.

Comments (+)