Akaash triumphant

Akaash triumphant

Karnataka's Akaash Ashok Kumar defeated state-mate Parvez Ahmed in a thrilling final to claim the Karnataka State-ranking tenpin bowling title here on Sunday.

In a low scoring final where the winner was decided based on total pinfall in one game, Akaash played steadily after a split second frame to script a nervy 184-179 victory at the Amoeba Bowling Centre.

Parvez had a split in the third frame and missed a spare in the eight but fought back with a double in the ninth and 10th. However, with Akaash always managing to stay ahead of him in an atrittional battle, he had to settle for the runners-up spoils.

Earlier in the Step Ladder Match 1, Tamil Nadu's Anand Babu defeated Praneet G of Telangana and Girish Gaba of Karnataka 220-211-184 to qualify for Step Ladder Match 2. In that contest, Parvez triumphed over Anand and Vivek Singh of Telangana 214-202-189 to advance to the final.

Special prizes: Highest average in 6-game block (men's): Praneet Goud (1329); Highest average in 6-game block (U-21): Sahil Punjabi (1021).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)