Srikanth, Lakshya in semifinals

Sindhu, Saina march into last-four with commanding wins
Last Updated 06 November 2017, 18:48 IST

Top seed Kidambi Srikanth eased into the semifinal to set up a clash with young Lakshya Sen in the 82nd Senior National badminton championships here on Monday.

Srikanth, the world number two, defeated Shubham Prajapati 21-19, 21-16 in the quarterfinals after knocking out Aryamann Tandon 21-14, 21-12 in the pre-quarters earlier in the day.

Lakshya had an easier passage, with Ajay Jayaram, the fourth seed, pulling out due to an injury when trailing 10-15 in the first game. The former world number one junior had defeated Pratul Joshi 21-18, 21-13 in the pre-quarters.

In another quarterfinal, H S Prannoy defeated Parupalli Kashyap 22-20, 21-19. He will meet the winner of the clash between P Sai Praneeth and Subhankar Dey.

On a day when all the big guns of Indian badminton were in action, P V Sindhu and Saina Nehwal stayed on course for a final clash, sailing into the semifinals in the women's division.

Sindhu, the top seed, faced little problems in defeating Shriyanshi Pardesi 21-11, 21-17 in the quarterfinals. She will play Ruthvika Shivani in the semifinal.

The second-seeded Saina brushed aside Aakarshi Kashyap 21-17, 21-10 in the quarters. She will take on Anura Prabhudesai in the last four. Anura knocked out qualifier Salili Rane 21-19, 21-9 in her quarterfinal.

In mixed doubles, Pranav Jerry Chopra and Sikki Reddy, the top seeds, entered the semifinals, beating Rohan Kapur and Kuhu Garg 21-14, 21-16. Second seeds Satwik Sai Raj and Ashwini Ponnappa also advanced, beating Shivam Sharma and Poorvisha S Ram 21-14, 21-12.

Results: Men's singles (quarterfinals): K Srikanth bt Shubham Prajapati 21-19, 21-16; Lakshya Sen bt Ajay Jayaram 15-10, retd; H S Prannoy bt Parupalli Kashyap 22-20, 21-19.

Pre-quarterfinals: Srikanth bt Aryamann Tandon 21-14, 21-12; Shubham bt Bodhit Joshi 21-19, 21-16; Ajay Jayaram bt Rahul Bharadhwaj 21-11, 21-13; Lakshya Sen bt Pratul Joshi 21-18, 21-13; Subhankar Dey bt Daniel Farid 21-18, 19-21, 21-10; B Sai Praneeth bt Rahul Yadav 21-10, 18-21, 21-5; P Kashyap bt Ansal Yadav 21-4, 21-13; Prannoy bt Chirag Sen 21-7, 20-22, 21-15.

Women's singles (quarterfinals): P V Sindhu bt Shriyanshi Pardesi 21-11, 21-17; Ruthvika Shivani bt Sai Uttejitha Rao 21-14, 21-8; Anura Prabhudesai bt Salili Rane 21-19, 21-9; Saina Nehwal bt Aakarshi Kashyap 21-17, 21-10.

Pre-quarterfinals: Sindhu bt Revati Devasthale 21-16, 21-2; Shriyanshi bt Malvika Bansod 21-11, 21-18; Sai bt Purva Barve 21-18, 22-24, 21-17; Ruthvika bt Rasika Raje 21-14, 21-5; Anura bt Tanishq M 21-23, 21-14, 21-18; Salili bt Sri Krishna Priya 21-13, 21-14; Aakarshi bt Reshma Karthik 21-9, 11-21, 21-12; Saina bt Vrushali G 21-12, 21-10.

(Published 06 November 2017, 16:26 IST)

Follow us on