Numerical strength, alliances put to test as faultlines exposed in M'rashtra

Last Updated 16 November 2017, 12:36 IST

The numerical strength of all the political parties and alliances in Maharashtra will be put to test on December  7, if veteran leader Narayan Rane chooses to contest the elections to the upper House.

In that case, the fissures and political faultlines would stand exposed in the state - where the BJP and Shiv Sena, the two ruling alliance partners, are at war-of-words on a daily basis.

On 21 September, Rane, a former chief minister, resigned as an MLC and from the Congress, necessiating the elections to the Maharashtra Legislative Council.

A six-time MLA, Rane, who lost two elections in recent times - during the 2014 Assembly polls and later the bypoll from Bandra in Mumbai - was later made an MLC.

But, he was sulking in the Congress and choose to resign and later floated the Maharashtra Swabhiman Paksha and subsequently joined the BJP-led NDA.

Given the fact that Rane remains the bete noire of Shiv Sena President Uddhav Thackeray, it is hardly a guess whether they would support him in case the BJP backs the former Shiv Sainik.

As far as the tally in the 288-member Assembly is concerned, the BJP leads the tally with 122 followed by the Shiv Sena (63), the Congress (42) and the NCP (41).

They are followed by the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (1), the Hitendra Thakur-led Bahujan Vikas Aghadi (3), the All India Majlis Ittehadul Muslimeen (2), the Peasants and Workers Party (3), the Rashtriya Samaj Paksha (1), theBharipa Bahujan Mahasangh (1), the CPM (1), Samajwadi Party (1) and others/Independents (7). The magic figure is 145.

None of the parties have clarified its stand. However, the NCP has said that since the seat belonged to the Congress, the latter should contest it.

(Published 16 November 2017, 12:34 IST)

Follow us on