Baroda record fine victory

Baroda record fine victory

Baroda defeated Mumbai by 13 runs in the West Zone Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 League opener at the SCA Stadium here on Sunday.

Baroda rattled up an imposing score of 210 for three, powered by half-centuries by wicketkeeper and opener Urvil Patel (50 in 29 balls) and captain Deepak Hooda (66 in 39 balls), who struck eight fours and one six, besides an unbeaten knock of 44 in 26 balls, studded with three sixes and a four, by Krunal Pandya.

Barring Dhawal Kulkarni, who returned figures of one for 29, the other Mumbai bowlers were expensive with medium pacer Shardul Thakur leaking 47 runs in his four overs without a wicket  to his name.

In reply, Mumbai were stopped at 197 for eight with Siddesh Lad's 82 off 51 balls laced with four sixes and six fours being its cornerstone.

Atit Sheth and Lukman Meriwala, who had troubled the Mumbai batsmen in the Ranji game, were once again among the pick of the Baroda bowlers with excellent returns of three for 31, including the scalp of Lad.

Baroda also secured four points from the victory.

In the second match of the day, Maharashtra tripped Gujarat by four wickets with three balls to spare.

Medium-pacer Domnic Muthuswamy was in fine fettle as he grabbed four for 27 to help Maharashtra restrict Gujarat to 151 for eight which was chased down by the latter, who made 154 for six in 19.3 overs.

In the Gujarat innings, captain Axar Patel made 38 and also added 57 runs for the sixth wicket with Chirag Gandhi who struck a 37-ball unbeaten 61, dotted with one six and six fours. The duo rescued Gujarat from a tottering 45 for five.

Chasing the score, Maharashtra were also down at 49 for four before wicketkeeper batsman Nikhil Naik blitzed his way to an unbeaten 70 off 37 balls, inclusive of two sixes and six fours, to help them cross the finish line.

Veteran leggie Piyush Chawla picked up three for 27 for a losing cause. Maharashtra gained four points.

Brief scores: Baroda 210/3 in 20 overs (Kedar Devdar 38, Urvil Patel 50, Deepak Hooda 66, Krunal Pandya 44 n.o.) bt Mumbai: 197/8 (Jay Bista 36, Siddhesh Lad 82, Shivam Dube 33; Atit Sheth 3-31, Lukman Meriwala 3-29).

Gujarat: 151/8 (Axar Patel 38, Chirag Gandhi 61 n.o.; Domnic Muthuswamy 4-27) lt to Maharashtra 154/6 (Nikhil Naik 70 n.o.; Piyush Chawla 3-27).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)