Cong ready with 3 names for Opposition leader

Cong ready with 3 names for Opposition leader

Former mayor K Chandrashekar, M Nagaraj and Uday Shankar are in the race.
KPCC President R V Deshpande, MLA Ramalinga Reddy and former MLAs J Alexander and H M Revanna will take a final decision on the Leader of the Opposition and his deputy, on Friday.
The candidates names were finalised at a meeting of Congress leaders held on Thursday evening.

Deshpande said his party will disclose its candidates after the ruling party names its nominees for the mayor and deputy mayor posts.


“I will be taking a decision in consultation with some leaders. Only when we have a Leader of the House, there can be a Leader of the Opposition,” he said. Asked whether the Congress intended to contest the posts, he replied in the negative.

He said “the party respects the verdict of the people which is in favour of the BJP. The mayor and the deputy should be a unanimous choice.”

The JD(S) too will be announcing its floor leader on Friday. JD(S) spokesman Y S V Datta said the party has no plans to field candidate for the mayor post.