Dist admn fetes doctors, nurses for their service

Dist admn fetes doctors, nurses for their service

Dr Ravindra T of Ujire PHC bags Best Doctor award

Dr Ravindra T of Primary Health Centre Ujire has been awarded the best doctor of the district under National Rural Health Mission. Ujire PHC has to its credit the success of handling about 40 delivery cases per month.

Dr Ramesh Kawari of Government Lady Goschen Hospital has been awarded as best Gynaecologist  in district hospital. Dr Jecintha D’souza from Wenlock hospital has been awarded best anaesthesiologist in district hospital while Dr Balakrishna Rao of Wenlock Hospital has been awarded as the best pediatrician of district hospital.

Dr Prakash (PHC Kokkada), Dr Hemalatha (PHC Surathkal), Dr Gopalkrishna Nayak (PHC Eshwaramangala), Dr Srirangappa (Taluk hospital Sullia), Dr Durgaprasad (Government Health Centre Vamadapadau), have been awarded the Taluk level best doctor awards.

Meanwhile, Ellen Mercy of Government Lady Goschen hospital has been awarded best staff nurse in district hospital followed by Gulabi of PHC Koila and Saleela of Government hospital Puttur who have been awarded district-level best staff nurse awards.

Earlier, inaugurating the programme, Zilla Panchayat CEO P Shivashankar said that medical administration is a very complex subject. He opined that though on one hand government has been introducing various programmes to reduce illness among people, on the other hand, it gives targets to government hospitals to meet. While on one hand it brings in various schemes to attract people towards government hospitals, it also extends the schemes to private hospitals.

He said that National Rural Health Mission is first of its kind which allows planning of the project at the local level. However, he added that since most of the doctors are responsible for implementing the project, they are often seen keeping accounts of construction materials than the health care materials.

He said that there is a need to show ‘human face’ of the Government by sending in more and more doctors and nurses to naxal affected areas to provide health care facilities.
ZP President Santhosh Kumar Bhandary, District Health officer Dr Jagannath, Resource person Dr Vishweshwara Bhat and others were present.