'BJP govt does not believe in Panchayat system'

'BJP govt does not believe in Panchayat system'

Addressing a press meet here on Monday, he said the BJP government is now trying to weaken the panchayat system by appointing vigilance committee to each panchayat.

“Though Gram Panchayat polls are not fought based on party, the Congress supported candidates are contesting the election in all gram panchayats in the district. We are facing the election with the ideology of secularism and expressed hope that the Congress backed candidates will win most of the seats in the district,” he said.

He called upon the voters to vote for the right candidate to strengthen local governance and establish social harmony. He said voters should elect those candidates who respect plural society and want to strengthen the Panchayat system.   

Stating that distribution of title deeds under Akrama Sakrama yojane has not been carried out in the district for the last four years, Rai said the State government is responsible for the erratic power supply and rise in prices of essential commodities.

‘Misuse of funds’

Rai alleged that District-in-Charge Minister Krishna Palemar has not divided the funds under natural calamity fund equally among all the constituencies. Instead, majority of the share has been given to his constituency. The funds released under natural calamity should be utilised for the compensation under natural calamity.

Unfortunately, Rs 1 crore which remained under the Natural Calamity Fund has been utilised in Palemar’s constituency without dividing it among other MLAs.

All the development works which are being carried out in the State are Centre sponsored projects. The Government has failed to solve the confusion over the distribution of ration cards and drinking water woes.

State-level Congress leaders Motamma, B L Shankar, Ugrappa, Kagodu Thimmappa will take part in a mega convention in Bantwal on April 29.

Rai said block-level office-bearers have been elected in the district in view of Gram Panchayat elections. They include Ivan D’Souza (Ullal), Suresh Ballal (Pane Mangalore), Ashok Kumar D K (Bantwal), Vishwas Kumar Das (Suratkal), Kallige Tharanath Shetty (Puttur), Prasanna Kumar Rai (Sullia), Venkappa Gowda (Kadaba), Shashidara Hegde (Belthangady), Arun Coelho (Moodbidri), Dinakara Ullal (Vittal), Harinath (Mulky) and Santhosh Kumar Shetty (Gurpur).