'No confidence motion': Special meet to be held on May 22

 Vijaya, who won from Congress ticket was a rebel candidate in September 2009 and with the help of BJP, he had come to power.

However, ZP members H S Ashok and H B Ganesh who supported the candidature of Vijaya in September had started identifying themselves with the Congress now.

With the support of the duo, Opposition had mooted ‘no confidence motion’ against ZP president V M Vijaya and Vice-President Anitha Kanjithanda on April 27.

With one week left for seeking ‘no confidence motion,’ BJP is trying its level best in the backstage to retain the power. According to available sources, after mooting no confidence motion against ZP president and vice-president, H S Ashok and H B Ganesh have remained with the Congress.

 However, V M Vijaya is confident of getting support from  H S Ashok and H B Ganesh. In the meantime, BJP is trying its level best to get Congress senior member M K Nanjappa to its fold, said sources and added that BJP has been pressurising Nanjappa to remain absent citing health reasons.

However, one can not rule out major political development within a week.

Zilla Panchayat CEO Mirja Akbarulla said that a member has to take the role of a President to carry out the meeting on May 22.

Kodagu Zilla Panchayat has 29 seats. This includes Independent member H S Ashok and JD(S) member H B Ganesh. If Congress gets their support, their number will rise to 15. With this, Congress will get simple majority.

In this background, BJP is trying its level best to get Congress member M K Nanjappa to its fold through ‘Operation Kamala.’

Independent candidate H S Ashok, JD(S) candidate H B Ganesh, P B Manjula, Congress members Deerghakeshi Shivanna, M K Nanjappa, Vrindababu, Bhanumathi, A Lokeshkumar, V P Shashidhar, Rajamma Rudraiah, M B Abdul Lathif, Humayunbegum, Chitra Ramesh, K M Balakrishna, Chambanda Kalaiah, Uthappa have signed for no confidence motion. In case, if President and Vice-President loses the confidence motion, then H S Ashok will be the President and Congress member Bhanumathi or Humayunbegum will be the Vice-President. If Congress senior member M K Nanjappa falls prey to ‘BJP’s Operation Kamala’, then BJP will remain in power and the tenure of ZP President Vijaya and Vice-President Anitha Kanjithanda will continue.

‘I will face test’

“I  will not remain in power. The development of the district should not be affected because of me. I will face the test on May 22. I am sure to win the confidence motion,” said ZP President V M Vijaya.

Speaking to presspersons on Friday, he said: “I am not scared of no confidence motion. Many development works have to be undertaken in the district.”

“I had assured to convene a meeting after GP polls. Accordingly, I have called for a special meeting on May 22. I am sure of my victory.”

He said: “As alleged by the Opposition, I have not sidelined any member. In fact, I had not expected ZP president’s post. I have the feeling of satisfaction. I will not be hurt if I lose no confidence motion. I have several other opportunities to serve the people.”

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)