Natl supercross meet on Sunday

Natl supercross meet on Sunday

Best in the country to be in action

The 1.2 km track, which consists of six double jumps, three triple jumps, eight berms, a short section of whoop de doos and a 100 ft-high table top, will be completed on Friday, hosting some of India’s best supercross riders.

The organisers (Sportstrek) said they have introduced a separate foreign bike category for private riders from this year to bring an element of evenness to the competition. Private riders have had to compete with factory riders in the previous editions of the event with the latter emerging victorious almost all the time due to their superior machines.

“We expect a lot more entries with the introduction of the new category,” said former supercross champ and president of Sportstrek Shyam Kothari at a press conference on Thursday, where the schedule for the following rounds were also released.

“There will be a lot of good competition and with Bangalore, being a major spot for racing, will draw in a good crowd. There will be a number of local participants in the event.”
With the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs in India (FMSCI) barring foreign riders from taking part and last year’s winner of the Bangalore leg, Veer Patel of Baroda, not competing due to a knee injury, the event might just lack the zeal, but the presence of Team TVS Racing’s CS Santosh, his team-mate KP Aravind and the introduction of the new foreign category offers a chance to witness some high-octane action.

Bangalore leg categories: Group ‘A’: Foreign open and private open class (upto 250 cc, two stroke and 500 cc, four stroke). Group ‘B’: Indian experts and locals (upto 260 cc).
Group ‘C’: Novice and Indian experts-C (upto 260 cc).
Championship schedule: Bangalore (May 30), Coimbatore (July 11), Jaipur (July 25), Baroda (October 31), Goa (November 28), Pune (December 12).