74 new English schools in backward taluks

74 new English schools in backward taluks

Modelled on Kendriya Vidyalaya; classes for 6th std to begin this year

The Union government has sanctioned these schools under the Rashtriya Madhyamika Shiksha Yojna (RMSY). Classes for sixth standard will begin from the present academic year. The admission is through an entrance test.

Primary and Secondary Education Minister Vishweshwara Hegde Kageri, on Friday, said the schools would be set up in 74 most backward taluks  identified by the D M Nanjundappa report on regional imbalance.  The schools would help provide quality education to poor children. Qualified staff would teach state syllabus to students.

Applications for admission to these schools are available at the offices of Block Education Officers in each taluk from Saturday.  The filled-in application forms should be submitted before June 15. Entrance test will be conducted on June 30 and schools will open on July 15.

No separate buildings

The minister said currently there were no separate buildings for the new schools and they would be housed temporarily in other government schools or rented buildings.  They would be developed into residential schools and classes would be conducted in Kannada medium in the coming years.

The Centre has upgraded 80 higher primary schools in the State by sanctioning ninth and tenth standards. Schools where eighth standard was already part of the higher primary have been selected for upgradation. The minister said admission to these schools would begin from academic year 2010.

The RMSY is centrally-sponsored scheme. The Centre bears 75 per cent of the total project cost, while the state contributes 25 per cent. The Centre has allotted Rs 400 crore to the State under the programme.