Polls to BBMP standing commitee next month

As per the amendment to the Karnataka Municipal Corporation (KMC) Act, 1976, made by the Karnataka Legislature in the recently concluded session, 12 committees with 11 members each have been ratified.

The ruling party in the BBMP is now awaiting the gazette notification to move ahead with the formalities of conducting the elections. “But the elections to the standing committees will only be held after the Budget session of the Council,” informed Katte Satyanarayana, leader of the ruling party at the Palike Council.

As per the amendment, the total number of Committees has been increased from eight to 12. The following are the Standing Committees as ratified by the legislature: Health, Education, Establishments and Administrative Reforms, Major Works, Ward Level Works, Taxation and Finance, Marketing, Town Planning, Horticulture, Appeals, Social Justice and Accounts.

Under the two new Standing Committees, Major Works Committee will now handle infrastructure projects like flyover, underpasses, subways, road widening, ring roads, elevated roads and all those projects which involve land acquisitions.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)