Ekalavya awards presented

Ekalavya awards presented

Proud moment Ekalavya award winners with the trophy during a function at the Raj  Bhavan on Sunday. DH photo

“There has always been an inconsistency in presenting the Ekalavya awards,” Shekhar said after Governor HR Bhardwaj presented 15 athletes with the awards for the year 2009 at the Raj Bhavan on the National Sports Day here on Sunday.

“However, that will not happen again and the State Government will certainly present the Ekalavya and life-time achievement awards on August 29 every year. The Arjuna and Khel Ratna awards are being awarded on Dhyan Chand’s birthday and we also have taken cue from it,” Shekhar added. The Sports Minister had some good news that brought smiles on the faces of spor-tspersons.

“From next year onwards four new awards will be added. They will be: Karnataka Kreeda Ratna (Chief Minister’s award), Karnataka Kreeda Mantri Prashasthi (Sports Minister’s award), Vibaga Mata Kreeda Prashasthi and Jilla Mata Kreeda Prashasthi. The same procedure followed for Arjuna or Ekalavya will be applied for these too,” added Shekhar.

The Minister also said ten per cent of the total gram panchayats will be identified annually from this year by the State Government for improving sporting infrastructure.

The identified gram panchayat or panchayats will be given Rs 22,000 for procuring equipment, building grounds and grooming talent.

“It is very important that villages and smaller districts also take up sports more seriously. Our aim is overall growth and we hope to make a start,” said Shekhar.

Irom Debham Singh (fencing coach) and Triveni MN (judo coach) were presented with the life-time achievement awards.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)