Biodiversity sites in 13 dists

Last Updated 02 September 2010, 17:21 IST

The Centre is also planning to start research and conservation of Rare, Endangered and Threatened (RET) species and link cultural relationship in management of biodiversity.

This came to the fore at a workshop conducted by CSD along with the Karnataka Biodiversity on ‘Conservation and Documentation of Forest Diversity in Dry Zones or Maidan Areas’ here on Thursday.

During the first botanical survey conducted by CSD in the 13 conservation sites, 782 plants species were identified, where 31 per cent of the entire biodiversity comprises herbal composition. Now, another survey is planned to be conducted in September and October to document more plants and shrubs.

Western Ghats Task Force Chairman Anantha Hegde Ashisar said a proposal has been sent to Chief Minister to declare Chincholi in Gulbarga and Kappatagudda in Gadag as biodiversity sensitive areas.

Also, Gurusidappa, a traditional medicine practitioner, appealed to the government to provide 25 acres of land in Davangere that would be developed as medicinal garden.
India has two biodiversity hotspots mainly Western Ghats and eastern Himalayas.

However, the plethora of flora found in dry areas is also significant and needs to be documents.

Dr A Ravindra, advisor to Chief Minister, in his presidential address said after Rajasthan, the next dry region is Karnataka. Yet, the State has rich biodiversity hot spots. However, there was a lot to be done to protect them.

“Information system should be linked to computerised network system even at village level. Also, awareness should be created among people, especially the panchayats and village forest committees, and they should be included in the programmes,” he suggested. Even conservation of urban biodiversity –– lakes and mangroves –– should be looked into, he added.

13 dry zone conservation sites

Karapakapalli          Humnabad range     Bidar
Sheribikanahalli       Chincholi range       Gulbarga
Guntagola               Lingasugur range    Raichur
Donimalai block        Sandur range          Bellary
Indargi                     Munirabad range     Koppal
Siddarbetta              Koratagere range    Tumkur
Maklidurga             Doddaballapur range    Bangalore rural
Sunakal Royalpod SF     Srinivasapura range    Kolar
Chikkamakali           Malavalli range           Mandya
Jogimatti                 Chitradurga
Malebennur             Davangere
Mamadapura            Bijapur
Makuta                    Badami

(Published 02 September 2010, 17:21 IST)

Follow us on