Lokayukta serves notices on 6 legislators

The legislators are Rahim Khan (Bidar MLA), Syed Yasin (Raichur MLA), Varthur Prakash (Kolar MLA), Ashwathanarayana (MLC), M R Hulinaicker and (MLC) K T Srikante Gowda (MLC). It is mandatory for the legislators to file the statement as per Section 22(1) of the Karnataka Lokayukta Act, 1984.

The legislators have to file the statement by the end of June every year. The Lokayukta sends the report on the statement to the Governor. Those who violate the rules are liable for prosecution under Section 176 IPC. Though Justice Hegde had extended the deadline for filing the statement till August 31, these legislators have not bothered to do so.

Soon after receiving the show-cause notice dated September 1, Hulinaicker has filed the statement on September 6.

When contacted, Justice Hegde said: “If I am not satisfied with their replies, I will take criminal proceedings against these legislators.”

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)