BSFI to launch Cue Masters

New panel announces a host of plans to spread the game

Capt PVK Mohan, who was re-elected BSFI president at its annual general body meeting at the Karnataka State Billiards Association here, said the federation aimed to make India one the major cue sports hubs in the world.

“Many of the current office bearers who were part of the previous body were instrumental in staging 12 international events, including World snooker and billiards championships. We want to make it even bigger and have decided upon a multiple point agenda that will help us achieve the goal.”

“Our major plan in the next four years will be the formation of Cue Masters League, built on the lines of the professional circuit. The League will comprise snooker, billiards and the hugely popular pool disciplines. Tournaments will be held four different zones – North, East, West and South,” he told a press conference here.

“The winners of each zone will then clash in the major finals. We are in talks with sponsors and looking at possibility of live TV coverage. This will help players make more money and keep them busy. Apart from that, we are also looking at hosting a Corporate Cup that could generate interest among working professionals,” said Mohan.

The president also stressed on the need to increase player remuneration. “Apart from the league, the federation will subsidise the expenditure borne by the players who finish amongst top-8 in selection camps. Also, players who travel abroad generally get the refund from government only after they return. Most players find it difficult in forking out huge sums early on. Therefore the BSFI has decided to grant an initial loan to the players, who can repay it after government’s clearance.”

Mohan said the present committee has decided to spread the game at school and college levels.  Meanwhile, long-serving C Kapur stepped down as the secretary with Karnataka’s S Balasubramaniam taking over his role.

Office bearers: President: Capt PVK Mohan (Andhra Pradesh); Vice-presidents: Bholu Mehta (Madhya Pradesh), Kush Bhargava (Uttar Pradesh), Rajan Khinvasara (Maharashtra), K Ranjan (Tamil Nadu); Secretary: S Balasubramaniam (Karnataka); Treasurer: MSR Aradhya (Karnataka).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)