New Governor likely to take charge on June 29

 Thakur, who has been the 15th Governor of Karnataka, took charge on August 21, 2007 and served for 22 months. He was earlier Governor of Orissa and was holding additional charge as Governor of Andhra Pradesh. Thakur has also served as the Union Minister for Finance (Revenue); Rural Development and Parliamentary Affairs from June 1991 to December 1994. He was twice elected as the member of Rajya Sabha -- in April 1984 and in 1990.

Octogenarian Thakur, who is a native of Bihar, was appointed as Karnataka Governor at a time when the State was heading towards the President’s rule in 2007. The BJP and the JD(S) had locked horns over transfer of power. As expected, power transfer did not happen and the President’s rule was imposed on October 9.

Thakur had held the reins of administration under the President’s rule for nearly eight months. He had come under severe criticism from the BJP and the JD(S) for taking some controversial decisions. Annulling all nominations to co-operative institutions, fixing reservation roster for urban local bodies, appointing new chief secretary, nominating a MLC from Andra Pradesh, Rajyalakshmi, as a syndicate member of Bijapur Women’s University were some of his major decisions. He was forced to withdraw the nomination of Rajyalakshmi later.

This apart, his stint as the constitutional head of the State has been free of any issues. In fact, he disproved the allegation that he takes partisan decisions in favour of the Congress, by running the administration smoothly during the last one year of the BJP government in the State.

He, time and again, guided the Government on important policy matters. In the recent instance, when the government urged him to promulgate an ordinance increasing BBMP wards from 147 to 198, the Governor insisted on Chief Minister Yeddyurappa assuring him that the BBMP polls will be held as per the Karnataka High Court direction before promulgating the ordinance.

The CM thanked Thakur for his co-operation in running the Government in the last one year. “I congratulate him on being appointed Governor of Madhya Pradesh,” he said.

Comments (+)