25 nominations filed in Kodagu

Actor Jai Jagadish submits Congress B-form to his sister Chandrakala in Madikeri on Tuesday.

As many as 25 nominations have been submitted for the upcoming Assembly elections in two constituencies in Kodagu district.

Tuesday being the last day, as many as 16 nominations were filed. Tribal activist G K Muthamma could not file her nomination.

Those who filed nomination from Madikeri constituency are K P Chandrakala (Congress), Bhargava (Hindu Mahasabha), Rasheeda Begum (MEP), M Kaleel, P U Kishan, Venkatesh, Hemanth Kumar, Napanda Muthappa, K B Raju, M Mohammed Haneef (Independents).

From Virajpet constituency, K G Bopaiah (BJP), Padmini Ponnappa, Harish Bopanna, Acchapanda Giri Uthappa, Faizal M K and P S Mutha (Independent) filed their nominations.

As many as 14 nominations were filed in Madikeri constituency while 11 nominations were filed in Virajpet constituency.

The nominations will be scrutinised on April 25.

The last date for filing the nominations is April 27.

In fact, three rebel candidates from Congress have filed their nomination papers.

Chandrakala, Congress candidate from Madikeri filed her nomination after taking out a procession. Her brother Jai Jagadish and family members accompanied her.

Speaking on the occasion, Chandrakala said, “Napanda Muthappa is a youngster. There are ample opportunities for him in the future. I am confident that he will support me. The work carried out by me as a Sewage Board president and Zilla Panchayat president will help me to win the polls.”

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0