Goa: 2 MGP MLAs join BJP, ally GFP concerned

Last Updated 27 March 2019, 12:07 IST

The Goa Forward Party, a partner in the state government, has expressed fear about the creation of "suspicion among partners" after two MGP MLAs broke away and joined the BJP.

The GFP has three MLAs in the 40-member Goa Assembly and is supporting Chief Minister Pramod Sawant's government.

"If this (defection from coalition partners) continues, then we will lose sympathy and it will create suspicion among coalition partners. Such incidents in future will result in lack of public goodwill," GFP president Vijai Sardesai, also deputy chief minister of the coastal state, said.

Putting the ball in CM Sawant's court, Sardesai asserted, "The CM heads this (government) and he knows the contours of his alliance. I think he will very soon clarify on the future political road map of this coalition government," said Sardesai.

He said he had conveyed his concern to the chief minister as well as the BJP's state leadership following on Wednesday's developments.

In the early hours Wednesday, two of the three Maharashrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) MLAs-- Manohar Ajgaonkar and Dipak Pawaskar-- gave a letter to officiating Speaker Michael Lobo, merging their party's legislative wing with the BJP.

The MGP is now left with Marcaim MLA Sudin Dhavalikar, who was also dropped a few hours later as the deputy chief minister in the Sawant government.

The MGP and the BJP were on a collision course after the former announced that it would contest against the official BJP candidate in the Shiroda Assembly bypoll scheduled for April 23.

Speaking on Wednesday, Sardesai said the split between the BJP and MGP was waiting to happen because of the impasse on the Shiroda bypoll.

"I had been cautioning both the BJP as well as MGP that if the Shiroda issue is not resolved, this was waiting to happen," he claimed.

Post the defection of two MGP MLAs, the BJP now has 14 legislators in the 40-member House, same as the opposition Congress.

(Published 27 March 2019, 10:31 IST)

Follow us on