Trinamool unilaterally announces candidates for WB poll

Last Updated 18 March 2011, 11:53 IST

"We will be happy if Congress fields its candidates in 64 constituencies after seat adjustment. Else, we will put our candidates which will include members from minority community on Monday," Banerjee said at a crowded press conference while releasing the candidate list.

Banerjee said she released the candidate list after her discussions with Congress central leadership till last night "and what was agreed upon there". Criticising the Congress' buying time from Trinamool Congress over the seat-sharing deal, Banerjee said, "There is hardly any time left. We have to now go for affidavits and other poll formalities, We have to ensure that nomination forms reach our candidates in remote areas".

The Trinamool supremo said she had waited for long and ultimately announced the list. Trinamool Congress' unilateral release of candidate list followed a prolonged talks over seat-sharing with the Congress in both Delhi and Kolkata.

Trinamool Congress ally SUCI has been given two seats (Joynagar and Kultali) to contest. The Trinamool list of candidates include persons from various walks of life -- from former chief secretary Manish Gupta, FICCI secretary-general Amit Mitra to former IPS officers Rachpal Singh and Sultan Singh.

Film actors Chiranjeet and Debashree Roy, eminent singer Anup Ghosal and theatre personality Bratya Basu were also among Trinamool Congress aspirants.
Rukbanur Rahaman, brother of computer graphics teacher Rizwanur Rahaman whose mysterious death following his marriage with a prominent Hindu industrialist's daughter sparked off massive uproar in 2007, has also been given a ticket.

The Trinamool list includes 42 members from minority community and 34 women. Releasing the candidates list, a beaming Banerjee exuded confidence that her party would secure two-third majority in Assembly election, which will be held in six phases during April and May.

"We have fielded candidates in Jangalamhal areas where CPI(M) did not dare to nominate anyone. We have heard that 153 CPI(M) candidates were unwilling to contest and many even resented the party decision," the Trinamool chief claimed.

"I seek blessings of the masses for those nominated as Trinamool candidate as we are committed to usher in a rapid change in the Bengal's political scene in this election. This is a very very vital election which will bring about development in all spheres of life ending prolonged left front misrule," Banerjee said.

(Published 18 March 2011, 11:53 IST)

Follow us on