3rd overall championship for M’lore varsity

3rd overall championship for M’lore varsity

The Mangalore University emerged as overall championship for the third consecutive year in the All India inter-university cross country championship organised at the Gulbarga University campus by the Physical Education Department of the varsity on Thursday.

Women and men teams of Mangalore University secured 50 and 15 points respectively in the tournament.

In the men’s category, the Mangalore University secured first place.

Maharshi Dayanand University,Rohtak, Haryna and Panjab University in Chandigarh obtained second and third places respectively.

In women’s category, Punjabi University in Patiala won first, Mangalore University and Deen Dayal Upadhyaya University, Gorakhpur, secured second and third place respectively.

Karthik Kumar of Maharshi Dayanand University and Prajakta Godbole of
RTM Nagpur University emerged as champions in personal category.

Karthik and Prajakta reached their target in 30.40 and 35.55 minutes.

Narendra Prathap Singh (31.7), Dinesh(31.11) and Abdul Byari(31.15) of Mangalore
University secured the second, third and fourth places respectively.

Jyothi Chavan (36.38) won the bronze in the championship.