Congress names observers for government formation in Assam, Kerala

Senior leaders Madhushudhan Mistry and Mohsina Kidwai would be looking after Kerala while Pranab Mukherjee and Digvijay Singh have been entrusted with the task of government formation in Assam, Congress general secretary Janardhan Dwivedi said.

The development comes a day after the Congress-led United Democratic Front (LDF) ousted the communist government in Kerala in a neck and neck contest. The party also scored a thumping victory in Assam to retain power for the third successive time.

In Assam, incumbent Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi is expected to be retained in the post while in Kerala the names of a few Congress leaders, including Oommen Chandy, are doing the rounds.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)