Former Jaipur royal BJP candidate from Rajsamand

Former Jaipur royal BJP candidate from Rajsamand

Diya Kumari

After weeks of dilemma, the BJP has announced the name of former MLA Diya Kumari as its candidate from Rajsamand. 

Diya Kumari (48), the party's former MLA from Sawai Madhopur was trying for a Lok Sabha ticket from Rajsamand after she was denied ticket from Jaipur Urban and Sawai Madhopur.

But the BJP took two weeks to announce her candidature from Rajsamand, after the revolt registered by the erstwhile Mewar royal family.

“Both the erstwhile royal family of Udaipur as well as former CM Vasundhara Raje had raised their objection against her candidature but later central leadership had to convince them,” a senior BJP leader told DH.

In Rajsamand, which has a sizeable Rajput population, Diya Kumari will take on Congress leader Devki Nandan Gurjar. The incumbent MLA will replace incumbent MP Hariom Rathore, who had announced that he would not contest the polls.

Other than Diya, the BJP on Saturday declared four more candidates for the Lok Saha election. The saffron party has now announced its candidates for 23 of the 25 Lok Sabha seats in the state. It has left the Nagaur seat for Hanuman Beniwal, following an alliance with his Rashtriya Loktantrik Party (RLTP).

Similarly, in Dausa, the party is yet to decide between two forerunners — sitting Rajya Sabha MP Kirori Meena and Om Prakash Hudla.

Moreover, in its last list, the BJP has also fielded two women candidates after the party received criticism. Incumbent Bharatpur MP Bahadur Singh Koli was replaced by Ranjeeta Koli, daughter-in-law of former MP Gangaram Koli. 

Rajasthan will go to polls in two phases. In the first phase on April 29, elections will be held to 13 seats. Whereas on May 6, the second phase, elections will be held to 12 seats.