Now, Seemandhra ministers to stall T-Bill in Parliament

Now, Seemandhra ministers to stall T-Bill in Parliament

After MPs, it would now be the Union ministers from Seemandhra stalling parliamentary proceedings to prevent passage of the Telangana Bill in the Lok Sabha.

Union Textiles Minister Kavuri Sambasiva Rao on Friday said he and his colleagues from Seemandhra would make every attempt to stop the passage of the Andhra Pradesh State Reorganisation Bill in the Lok Sabha.

“I will be in Parliament to block the bill,” said Rao, a Lok Sabha MP from Eluru in West Godavari district of Andhra Pradesh.

All ministers from Seemandhra would block the bill when it is taken up for consideration and passage in the Lok Sabha.

On Thursday, Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar suspended 16 members for repeatedly stalling House proceedings. While Lagadapati Rajagopal, an expelled Congress member, pepper-sprayed his colleagues in the House, TDP member M Venugopal Reddy snatched a microphone and smashed computer screens.

The textiles minister said he would support the division of Andhra Pradesh if the Centre agreed to his four demands: Union Territory status for Hyderabad for 10 years, inclusion of Anantpur and Kurnool districts in Telangana, transfer of Bhadrachalam division to Seemandhra and a generous financial package for the residual state.

Rao had made the same demands at a Union Cabinet meeting last week, which were rejected outright.

Rao said if the government agrees to his demands before February 17 (Monday), all MPs from Seemandhra will support the bill.

He urged Prime Minister Manmohan Singh to take an initiative to address the problem before Parliament assembles on Monday.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0