Seshu to head IIT Dharwad

Seshu to head IIT Dharwad
President Pranab Mukherjee has approved the HRD ministry’s proposal for appointment of directors to five new IITs, including Dharwad.

Prof Seshu Pasumarthy, professor, Mechanical Engineering Department, IIT Bombay, has been appointed as director of IIT Dharwad.

The other directors are Prof K N Satyanarayana (IIT Tirupati), Prof P B Sunil Kumar (IIT Palakkad), Prof Rajat Moona (IIT Bhilai-Durg) and Prof B K Mishra (IIT Goa). The five directors have been appointed for a period of five years.

Earlier, a search-cum-selection committee appointed by Human Resource Development Minister Prakash Javadekar had recommended the names after holding interviews of several highly distinguished people with outstanding academic record and experience for the post of directors to the new IITs.

“It is a new institution and hence the challenge is much more,” Prof Seshu Pasumarthy told DH hours after the President  approved the HRD Ministry’s proposal for his appointment.
DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)