TRS marching towards a thunderous victory in Telangana

Telangana Chief Minister and TRS chief K Chandrashekar Rao during a public meeting at Suriyapet in Nalgunda district. (PTI File Photo)

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi inches towards a massive victory in Telangana leading on 90 out of 119 Assembly seats that went for elections on 7 December. Caretaker Chief Minister Kalvakuntla Chandrasekhar Rao is leading over his nearest rival Vanteru Pratap Reddy of Congress in Gajwel segment by over 50,000 votes.

KCR’s nephew T Harish Rao has achieved a double hattrick by winning Siddipet with over a margin of one lakh votes. KCR’s son K Taraka Rama Rao (Sircilla), Danam Nagendra (Khairatabad), Nomula Narsimhaiah (Nagarjunasagar), Talasani Srinivas Yadav (Sanatnagar), Madhavaram Krishna Rao (Kukatpally) are among those TRS leaders leading in their constituencies. However, Minister Tummala Nageswara Rao is trailing in Paleru seat.

Congress is shocked as their expectations over the UPA II government's decision on separate statehood demand of Telangana has not resulted in achieving power for the second time. Almost all the top leaders of Congress except TPCC chief Capt N Uttam Kumar Reddy is trailing. Congress working president and their start campaigner A Revanth Reddy (Kodangal), Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka (Madhira (SC)), J Geetha Reddy (Zaheerabad), Jeevan Reddy (Jagityal), Ponnam Prabhakar ( Karimnagar), K Jana Reddy (Nagarjuna Sagar), Damodar Rajnarsimha (Andole)  are losing their footholds.

First timer and NTR’s granddaughter Nandamuri Suhasini (TDP), Chada Venkat Reddy (CPI), BJP floor leader Kishan Reddy were the other prominent candidates that are on the verge of defeat. The Congress-led Praja Kutami, leading in 18 seats, would now be the main opposition party in the 119-member second Telangana assembly.

KCR’s whirlwind tour on a chopper across Telangana, coupled with the promises to provide reservation for Muslims, loan waiver for farmers and a two-bedroom house for poor ensured a thumping victory for TRS. AIMIM is leading in 3 seats out of the 8 it contested while BJP is leading in two out of the 5 seats.

Meanwhile, celebrations erupted at Telangana Bhavan the TRS headquarters here with party workers gathering in large numbers and dancing to the sounds of Dhol and Tashas. Many tribal women also started an impromptu Lambadi dance. Most of the city leaders were present at the headquarters as the trends were sure of a TRS victory for the second time.

Comments (+)