Bowlers spur Tumkur Zone to easy win

In a low-scoring encounter, Tumkur, who were bundled out for 161 in 55.5 overs in their first essay, pulled the rug from under Raichur to bowl them out for 129 in 44.1 overs in the first innings. A Puneeth (7/37) and Gagan (2/15) were the pick of the bowlers for Tumkur.

In their second stint with the bat, Tumkur fared no better as Raichur’s Chandrakanth (7/35) and Raghavendra (2/38) restricted them to 124 all out in 40.1 overs. With 156 runs required to win, Raichur needed one good partnership to carry them through but Tumkur’s Karthik Nihal Bharadwaj, who picked up eight wickets conceding a mere 21 runs, and Puneeth, who grabbed two wickets in the second innings finished the match with nine wickets, put away Raichur for 90 runs in 40 overs.

In another match, Bangalore Zone XI played out a draw with Mangalore Zone, but took the first inning honours.

Bangalore made 278 for seven in their first innings while Mangalore Zone were bundled out for 142 in their first innings. Syed Riyazuddin was the pick of the bowlers for Bangalore picking up 4 for 53 with V Dipendra and A Desmond chiiping in with two wickets each.

Brief scores: Tumkur Zone: 161 all out in 55.5 overs and 124 all out in 40.1 overs (Chandrakanth 7-35, Raghavendra 2-38) bt Raichur Zone: 129 all out in 44.1 overs (Puneeth 7-37, Gagan 2-15) and 90 all out in 40 overs (Chandrakanth 55; Karthik Nihal Bharadwaj 8-21, Puneeth 2-30). Bangalore Zone XI: 278/7 in 75 overs and 91/4 in 20 overs (V Dipendra 44 n.o.; Shagnik S Raj 3-39) drew Mangalore Zone: 142 all out in 67.4 overs (Shashank B 45; Syed R 4-53, V Dipendra 2-15, A Desmond 2-9). President’s XI: 250/5 in 75 overs and 32/4 in 12 overs (Vaibhav J Nayak 3-19) drew Mysore Zone: 212 all out in 70 overs (Swasthick B 47, Vishnu 32, Askhay S 33; Santrupath C 2-44, Saksham K 4-15). Shimoga Zone: 75 all out in 74.5 overs and 97/7 in 69 overs (Adhokash Hegde 2-27, Naveen Yadav 2-8) drew Combined City XI: 165/7 in 75 overs (M Shubham 30 n.o.; Vijay M Giri 2-25, N Kashyap 3-47).

Comments (+)