ICC T20 World Cup 2020: Fixtures, venues and more

ICC T20 World Cup 2020: Fixtures, venues and more

Source: ICC T20 World Cup's official Twitter handle

In case you forgot, there's another Cricket World Cup happening next year! The ICC T20 World Cup 2020 will be held in Australia and will commence on October 18, 2020, with the final to be held on November 15, 2020.

There will be 12 teams participating in the main tournament, called as the 'Super 12s'. The top eight teams in the ICC rankings as of Dec. 31, 2018 progress directly to the Super 12 stage, while the remaining couple in the top ten have to go through the first round of matches. The teams to qualify directly for the Super 12s are Pakistan, Australia, India, England, New Zealand, South Africa, Afghanistan and defending champions, West Indies. 

Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, who were ranked 9th and 10th, have to play out the first round of matches in two groups along with six teams from the T20 Global Qualifier, scheduled to be held in late 2019.

The T20 Global Qualifier will consist of Zimbabwe and Ireland- the two Full Member nations will participate directly without having to play a qualifier to get to this stage. They will be joined by Scotland, Netherlands, Hong Kong and Oman, all of who participated in the first round of the 2016 T20 World Cup, and so directly participate in the global qualifier. In addition to these sides, eight teams from the regional qualifiers held in Africa, Americas, Asia, East Asia-Pacific and Europe will also be part of the T20 Global Qualifier. So in total, 14 teams will vie for six spots in the first round of the ICC T20 World Cup 2020.

These are the fixtures for the men's T20 World Cup 2020:

First Round

Group AGroup B
Sri LankaBangladesh


18 OctoberSri Lanka vs A3Kardinia Park, Geelong
18 OctoberA2 vs A4Kardinia Park, Geelong
19 OctoberBangladesh vs B3Bellerive Oval, Hobart
19 OctoberB2 vs B4Bellerive Oval, Hobart
20 OctoberA3 vs A4Kardinia Park, Geelong
20 OctoberSri Lanka vs A2Kardinia Park, Geelong
21 OctoberB3 vs B4Bellerive Oval, Hobart
21 OctoberBangladesh vs B2Bellerive Oval, Hobart
22 OctoberA2 vs A3Kardinia Park, Geelong
22 OctoberSri Lanka vs A4Kardinia Park, Geelong
23 OctoberB2 vs B3Bellerive Oval, Hobart
23 OctoberBangladesh vs B4Bellerive Oval, Hobart

The top two teams from each group progress to the Super 12 stage, where they will be further divided into two groups.

Super 12

Group 1Group 2
New ZealandSouth Africa
West IndiesAfghanistan
Group A winnerGroup B winner
Group B runner-upGroup A runner-up


24 OctoberAustralia vs PakistanSydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
24 OctoberIndia vs South AfricaPerth Stadium, Perth
25 OctoberGroup A winner vs Group B runner-upBellerive Oval, Hobart
25 OctoberNew Zealand vs West IndiesMelbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
26 OctoberAfghanistan vs Group A runner-upPerth Stadium, Perth
26 OctoberEngland vs Group B winnerPerth Stadium, Perth
27 OctoberNew Zealand vs Group B runner-upBellerive Oval, Hobart
28 OctoberAfghanistan vs Group B winnerPerth Stadium, Perth
28 OctoberAustralia vs West IndiesPerth Stadium, Perth
29 OctoberPakistan vs Group A winnerSydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
29 OctoberIndia vs Group A runner-upMelbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
30 OctoberEngland vs South AfricaSydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
30 OctoberWest Indies vs Group B runner-upPerth Stadium, Perth
31 OctoberPakistan vs New ZealandThe Gabba, Brisbane
31 OctoberAustralia vs Group A winnerThe Gabba, Brisbane
1 NovemberSouth Africa vs AfghanistanAdelaide Oval, Adelaide
1 NovemberIndia vs EnglandMelbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
2 NovemberGroup A runner-up vs Group B winnerSydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
2 NovemberNew Zealand vs Group A winnerThe Gabba, Brisbane
3 NovemberPakistan vs West IndiesAdelaide Oval, Adelaide
3 NovemberAustralia vs Group B runner-upAdelaide Oval, Adelaide
4 NovemberEngland vs AfghanistanThe Gabba, Brisbane
5 NovemberSouth Africa vs Group A runner-upAdelaide Oval, Adelaide
5 NovemberIndia vs Group B winnerAdelaide Oval, Adelaide
6 NovemberPakistan vs Group B runner-upMelbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
6 NovemberAustralia vs New ZealandMelbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
7 NovemberEngland vs Group A runner-upAdelaide Oval, Adelaide
7 NovemberWest Indies vs Group A winnerMelbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
8 NovemberSouth Africa vs Group B winnerSydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
8 NovemberIndia vs AfghanistanSydney Cricket Ground, Sydney


After these fixtures are played, the top two teams from each group will progress to the semi-finals. The first semi-final will be held on November 11 at the Sydney Cricket Ground, and the second one on November 12 at the Adelaide Oval. The final will then be held on November 15 at the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).