Mysore emerge overall champs

Title-holders Blore Urban finish runners-up; Shreema best woman athlete
Last Updated 25 September 2009, 17:25 IST
Mysore emerge overall champs

Hosts tallied 96 points to bag the crown, pushing holders Bangalore Urban (89) to second place. Mysore were the champions in 2007 but surrendered the title to Bangalore last year.

Shreema Priyadarshini bagged the best woman athlete award for the second successive year with four gold and  a silver while the corresponding award in the men’s section went to three athletes with two gold medals each — long distance runner Manjunath M D (1500M, 5000M), sprinter Sonith Mendon (100M, 200M), both from Mysore, and Bangalore Urban’s Arshad M (long jump, triple jump).

On the concluding day, Nirupama Sunderraj avenged her 200-metre loss to Shreema by triumphing in the 100M final. The 16-year-old Bangalore Urban sprinter clocked 12.4 seconds to win the gold. “I am happy now. I put all my effort today and the result is there to see,” said Nirupama.

Nirupama had to ward off a tough challenge from Shreema in the final five metres before the Ebenezer International School eleventh standard student edged out her rival by two hundredths of a second.

However, the day belonged to Mendon who completed a sprint double by wining the blue riband event, the 100M men’s final, on Friday. In the process, the Mysore Division athlete equalled the meet record time of 10.6.  Mendon had won the 200M on Wednesday.

Bangalore Urban’s G N Bopanna, who was left to do the catching up job initially, made his ground quickly to challenge Mendon. However, Mendon managed to hold on to his lead, but only narrowly, to bag the gold. Bopanna claimed silver in 10.7 and his team-mate Aiyappa K M bagged the bronze in 10.9.

Three records were also broken on the day. Banglalore Urban's Jayaprakash C Shetty broke the meet record in the men's 400M. Jayaprakash ran the one-lap race in 48.3 seconds to erase the previous record of 49.25 created last year by Ranjit Rai of Mysore.
In the corresponding women's event, Sushmitha Devadas of Mysore timed 57.3, rewriting Mysorean Shreedevi’s eight-year old mark of 57.59.

Earlier, Thippavva Sannakki sent into oblivion the women's 5000M record. The 20-year-old Mysore Division runner recorded 18 minutes 15.74 seconds, slicing the previous mark by a good 28 seconds. Sannakki went under Bangalore Rural athlete Shradharani S Desai’s record.

Results: Men: 100M: Sonith Mendon (Mys) 10.6. Equalled meet record. Old: 10.6 (Kliphard Joseph Joshua (Bangalore Urban, 1997); 1; G N Bopanna (Blr Urban) 10.7, 2; Aiyappa K M ( ) 10.9, 3.
400M: Jayaprakash C Shetty (Blr Urban) 48.3. NMR. Old: 49.25 (Ranjith Rai, Mysore, 2008) 1; Ranjeet Rai (Mys) 48.5, 2; Jaideep (Blr Urban) 50.8, 3.
5000M: Manjunath M D (Mys) 15:44.00, 1; Harish S G (Blr Urban) 15: 46.57, 2; Rakesh M S (Blr Rural) 15:50.02, 3.
High jump: Raghavendra B S (Blr Rural) 1.90 metres, 1; Supreeth R (Mys) 1.84, 2; Abhishek N Shetty (Mys) 1.84, 3.
Javelin throw: Sharath Raj (Blr Urban) 69.12, 1; N Raghu (Blr Rural) 60.43, 2; Thippanna M (Bel) 57.80, 3.
Women: 100M: Nirupama Sunderraj (Blr Urban) 12.4, 1; Shreema Priyadarshini (Mys) 12.6, 2; Rebecca Jose (Blr Urban) 12.7, 3.
400M: Sushmitha Devadas (Mys) 57.3. NMR. Old: 57.59 (Shreedevi, Mysore, 1991) 1; Bharani C Gowda (Blr Urban) 58.5, 2; Shruthi T R (Blr Rural) 58.9, 3.
5000M: Thippavva Sannakki (Mys) 18:15.74. NMR. Old: 18:42.60 (Shradharani S Desai, Bangalore Rural, 2007) 1; Saroja Gowda (Mys) 19:40.16, 2; Asitha Suresh (Blr Urban) 20:29.45, 3.
High jump: Aishwarya (Blr Urban) 1.47, 1; Pavithra (Mys) 1.41, 2; Sumithra (Mys) 1.35, 3.
Javelin throw: Shahejahani (Mys) 36.04, 1; Jayashree Nimbalkar (Bel) 31.90, 2; Lakshmi K Bagadi (Bel) 28.09, 3.
Overall championship: Mysore (96 points).
Team championship: Men: Blr Urban, 1; Mysore, 2; Blr Rural, 3. Women: Mysore, 1; Blr Urban, 2; Belgaum, 3.
Individual champions: Men: Manjunath M D, Sonith Mendon and Arshad M (10 points each). Women: Shreema Priyadarshini (15).
Men (50+): 100M: Somashekhar (Mys) 13.2, 1; Dase Gowda K G (Mys) 13.8, 2; H R Narayana Swamy (Blr Rural) 14.1, 3.
5km walk: Manjunath (Blr Rural) 30:11.25, 1; Subba Shetty (Mys) 31.14.35, 2; Sannanallappa (Blr Rural) 31:54.01, 3.
Women (50+): 100M: Sarojini S (Mys) 16.3, 1; Gladys Pais (Mys) 18.9, 2; M R Sannananjamma (Blr Rural) 20.7, 3.
5km walk: Parvathi B C (Mys) 36:42.15, 1; Gladys Pais (Mys) 41:46.09, 2; M R Sannananjamma (Blr Rural) 49.46.08, 3.

(Published 25 September 2009, 17:25 IST)

Follow us on