AAP announces 13 candidates

AAP announces 13 candidates

AAP announces 13 candidates

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Tuesday announced 13 candidates for the Lok Sabha constituencies in the State.

Declaring that its prime intention was to gain a political foothold in the State, the newbie party has fielded prominent corporate honchos, dalit leaders, women rights activists and a farmer in the 13 seats.

With the candidates for the rest 15 seats likely to be declared next week, the AAP will embark on its first major election campaign in Karnataka on Wednesday.

The AAP’s Bangalore Central candidate, former Infosys CFO V Balakrishnan, said his fight was against crony capitalism and corruption.

He will face the likes of P C Mohan of the BJP. Nina P Nayak, a former member of the National Commission for Protection of Child Rights and candidate for Bangalore South, has set a realistic target by not claiming an outright victory in the coveted constituency.

“I will try my best and garner as much support as possible for the party,” she said. She faces BJP’s H N Ananth Kumar and Congress’ Nandan Nilekani.

K Arakesh, former IGP who shot to fame after heading the police team which shot dead forest brigand Veerappan, said he had always faced tough challenges throughout his career.

“Having been fielded from Chikkaballapur, I am ready to face another tough challenge,” he said.

The BJP has nominated B N Bachegowda for the constituency, while the JD(S) is likey to field Anitha Kumaraswamy and the Congress M Veerappa Moily.

Kejriwal to campaign on Saturday

Aam Aadmi Party chief Arvind Kejriwal will campaign in Bangalore for two days from Saturday. He will also tour Chikkaballapur, Doddaballapur and Gauribidnur. With a brand new campaign vehicle gifted by a well-wisher, the AAP leader will go to the doorsteps of voters seeking their support for AAP.

“We have been promised that Kejriwal will be coming to Karnataka at least five more times to campaign in various parts of the State, including in North Karnataka. We will definitely go to Shimoga, as Yeddyurappa is the BJP candidate there. Our leader will also visit Chikkaballapur, where Moily is likely to contest,” said AAP member Prithvi Reddy.