Bangalore, Mysore get women mayors

R. Sharadamma, 45, elected for the first time to the BBMP (Greater Bangalore City Corp), was elected mayor unopposed as the Congress and the Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) did not field a candidate.

Sharadamma is the fifth woman mayor of Bangalore though she gets the credit of being the first woman mayor of the BBMP. The BJP is controlling BBMP for the first time.

Pushpalatha Chikkanna, 40, of the Congress defeated her BJP rival to become the fourth woman mayor of Mysore, about 140 km from Bangalore. Her husband Chikkanna had earlier been the Mysore mayor. A Congress-JD-S coalition rules the Mysore city corporation.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0