BSR party bags president, VP posts in Bellary ZP

BSR party bags president, VP posts in Bellary ZP

The BSR party of Independent MLA B Sriramulu has bagged the posts of the president and vice president of the Bellary zilla panchayat (ZP).

The elections for the second term of the ZP was held on Wednesday, with the posts of president and vice president being reserved for the backward classes A (woman) and general (woman) categories, respectively.

G Sumangalamma Gubaji of the BSR party (19 votes) representing Devasamudra constituency defeated Bendigeri Shobha (16 posts) representing Holalu constituency to become president.

Mamatha Suresh Chinamalli of the BSR party representing Hampasagara constituency pipped Karibasavanagowdara Ratnamma representing Kogali constituency for the vice president post, by 30 votes to 5.

Meanwhile, Congress member Bhima Nayak was thrashed by a group of the district Congress leaders for supporting the BSR party candidate. Nayak had served as the Opposition leader in the last term.