Cong woos rebels to be neutral in polls

Cong woos rebels to be neutral in polls

Unhappy with the Congress for being denied a ticket to contest the upcoming elections, as many as 27 candidates from various constituencies have turned rebel. To ensure that these candidates don’t dent the party’s prospects, the Congress has embarked on a massive exercise to keep them in its good books so that they remain neutral during the elections.

Having drawn up a list of aspirants who have defied the party to contest as Independents, the party has now delegated senior leaders to initiate talks with these candidates. It has asked district in-charge ministers and regional leaders to approach these miffed candidates.

Some of the rebels that the party has begun approaching are Nallurahalli Nagesh (Bengaluru Central), Lokesh Gowda (Dasarahalli), Anand Chopra (Saundatti), Mohan More (Belgaum Rural), Lokesh V Nayak (Kudligi), Venkatesh Naik (Siruguppa), Naveen Kiran (Chikkaballapur), A L Pushpa (Jagalur), Rukmini Sahukar (Ranebennur) and Nanjamari (Tiptur).

15 BJP rebels expelled

BJP state president B  S Yeddyurappa on Tuesday expelled 15 rebels from the primary membership of the party.

These include S Thippeswamy, who is contesting against BJP's official candidate B Sriramulu in Molkalmuru. Somanna Bevinamard (Shiggaon) and Jagadish Metgud (Bailhongal) have also been expelled from the party.