Bagepalli TMC members lock office, stage protest

Bagepalli TMC members lock office, stage protest

Anger over interference of MLA in sanctioning grants

 The members were protesting against the alleged interference of the MLA in the sanctioning of the TMC grants.

The members alleged that the MLA had taken a unilateral decision in the action plan prepared for the implementation of various projects, under the Rs 5 crore grants, sanctioned for the development of small and medium towns.

TMC member Narayan, belonging to the JD(S), also began a hunger strike, as a mark of protest, before the protest began. TMC member Ganesh Tamate set in motion, the protest by beating the drum on the occasion. TMC President Sarojamma Sadashiva locked the TMC office premises and staged a dharna, along with Vice-President A N Murthy, CPM, JD(S) and independent members.

Addressing the protesters, Sarojamma said, an amount of Rs 5 crore has been sanctioned under the Chief Minister’s Small and Medium Towns Development Project to Bagepalli town. A committee has been formed to implement the various developmental projects, under the presidentship of assistant commissioner, and includes MLAs, tahasildar and other chief officers at its members.

According to the rules, the committee has to conduct a meeting and prepare an action plan for the implementation of the various developmental projects in the town.

However, the MLA, without bringing the matter to the notice of the TMC members, had interfered in the TMC affairs, held a meeting at the TMC premises and had prepared an action plan. This was not according to the rules and regulations, Sarojamma alleged.
She said, most of the projects prepared by the MLA do not come under the town limits. They all come in the city limits. Since the action plan was prepared, disobeying the rules and regulations, the deputy commissioner should not approve it for any reason, she urged.

Standing Committee President Anayuthullah, members Narayan, Karave Chandrashekhar, Narasimhappa, Majeed, Zakir, Noorullah, Kanthamma, Ganesh, Anand and  others took part in the protest.