JD(S) MLAs row: HC reserves order on Speaker’s appeal

JD(S) MLAs row: HC reserves order on Speaker’s appeal

The Karnataka High Court reserved its order in a writ appeal filed by the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly who has challenged the single judge order directing him to inform his decision on the disqualification of seven rebel JD(S) MLAs before May 7.

A division bench comprising Justices B Veerappa and Sunil Dutt Yadav was hearing an appeal filed by the Speaker.  On April 24, Justice Raghavendra Chauhan had asked the Speaker to inform his decision on disqualification before the commencement of the Assembly elections in the State.

Justice Chauhan was hearing a petition filed by JD(S) MLAs C N Balakrishna (Shravanabelagola) and B B Ningaiah (Mudigere - SC reserved), who had moved the court against seven of its rebel MLAs.

The petitioners had contended that the MLAs in
question stood disqualified from the time they voted against the JD(S) official candidate B M Farooq in the Rajya Sabha elections held on June 11, 2016.

On Friday, while hearing the appeal, the court observed that if the authorities fail to perform their duties and take action in a matter, the court is required to intervene to do justice.

The court also noted that the Assembly elections were fast approaching and hence, it was essential that a decision is taken on the issue at the earliest.