GP polls: 107 elected unopposed in Kodagu

GP polls: 107 elected unopposed in Kodagu

3,282 candidates in fray for 1,105 seats; Polls on May 12

The district has 96 Gram Panchayats. A total of 3,282 candidates are in fray for the 1,105 seats in the district. In Somwarpet, no nomination was filed in Kothanahalli Backward B women category in Bettadahalli Gram Panchayat.

Madikeri taluk has 22 Gram Panchayats with 283 seats. A total of 17 persons have been elected unanimously. For the remaining 266 seats, 703 candidates are contesting.  In Virajpet taluk, 75 members have been elected unopposed from 445 seats. As many as 971 candidates are in fray for the remaining 370 seats. Similarly, Somwarpet taluk has 40 Gram Panchayats with 485 seats, of which 15 have been elected unanimously. A total of 1,608 candidates will contest for 469 seats.

A total of 101 seats have been reserved for SC category. For which, 434 candidates are contesting. Of which, 205 are males and 229 are females. For 149 seats reserved for ST, 279 candidates are contesting. Of which, 88 males and 191 females.  In Backward A category, 313 seats are reserved. For which, 733 candidates are constesting. This include 405 males and 328 females.

A total of 95 seats have been reserved for Backward B Category. A total of 286 candidates are in fray. Of which, 260 males and 26 females.  A total of 493 seats have been reserved for general category and 1,548 candidates are contesting. This include 1,055 males and 493 females.


The district has 439 polling booths. 968 officials will be utilised for polling.  The second stage of training for Polling officer and Assistant officer will be held on May 5 in all the taluks.

For the officials from Madikeri taluk, training will be provided at St Joseph convent, St Annamma High School (Virajpet) and Okkaligara Kalyana Mantapa (Somwarpet).  As per the direction of Election Commission, ballot papers will be printed in private press in the respective taluk headquarters, said Election Officer.

Kodagu district has 3,21,599 voters. Of which, 1,62,445 are male and 1,59,154 are female. Madikeri taluk has 75,498 voters.  This inclide 38,239 male and 37,259 female. Virajpet taluk has 1,17,700 voters. Of which, 60,302 are male and 57,398 are female. Somwarpet taluk has 1,28,401 voters. Of which 63,904 male and 64,497 female.

In Madikeri taluk, Napoklu Government Junior College has highest number of voters with 1299. Mundrot forest department office polling booth has lowest voters with 80. Balele Government Model School has highest voters of 1268 members and lowest of 48 members in Kallalla Government Lower Primary School.

In Somwarpet taluk, Nellihudikeri Government Model Primary School has highest voters of 1280. Valagunda anganwadi centre and Soorlabbi Government Primary School has lowest voters of 256. Mustering and de mustering will take place on May 11 at St Joseph convent in Madikeri, Virajpet and Somwarpet Junior Colleges. Counting will be held on May 17 at the respective taluk headquarters.