Kodagu ZP chief confident of winning 'no confidence motion'

Kodagu ZP chief confident of winning 'no confidence motion'

Speaking to mediapersons here on Wednesday, he said “I have already spoken to district BJP leaders in this regard. All the leaders have considered it as prestige issue.”

V M Vijaya was elected to Zilla Panchayat from Congress ticket from Abboorukatte constituency in Somwarpet taluk. However, later with the support of BJP members, he was elected as President on September 11, 2009. In the meantime, Independent candidate H S Ashok and JD(S) member H B Ganesh who has supported Vijaya have started identifying themselves with Congress members and had signed for the no confidence motion being mooted by the Congress.

According to sources from BJP, “though H B Ganesh signed the no confidence motion in the beginning, he has decided to support BJP in the last minute. With this, BJP is confident of winning the no confidence motion.” However, Ganesh was not available for comment.
Zilla Panchayat has 29 members. It was on April 27 when Opposition members mooted no confidence motion against the President.

Congress members V P Shashidhar, Deerghakeshi Shivanna, M K Nanjappa, Vrindababu, Bhanumathi, K M Balakrishna, Rajamma Rudraiah, Abdul Lathif, Humayun Begum, Chitra Ramesh, Karun Kalaiah, P B Manjula, H B Ganesh and H S Ashok have signed for no confidence motion against ZP President Vijaya.

“I have respect for Ganesh. He will support me. Though I have not spoken to him after Congress mooted no confidence motion, I have discussed the matter with BJP Leaders,” said Vijaya.  He said: “I have a doubt whether the signature in the no confidence motion paper is of H B Ganesh or not.”

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)