Mysuru-bound train derails at Nayandahalli railway station

Mysuru-bound train derails  at Nayandahalli railway station

 The locomotive (engine) of the Bengluru-Mysuru passenger train derailed at the Nayandahalli station at about 9.30 am on Friday. Fortunately, all passengers in the 15 coaches of the train escaped unhurt, but it took more than two hours for train traffic to be restored after the incident.

Hundreds of commuters headed for the culmination of Dasara festivities were considerably inconvenienced. While officials hurried to clear the tracks, three trains between the two cities were affected following the mishap: the Bengaluru City-Mysuru Rajya Rani Express, Shatabdi Express between Chennai and Mysuru as well as the Bagalkot-Mysuru Basava Express.

The line was restored at around 11.45 am. Officials said prima facie it looked like the handiwork of some miscreants who had put boulders on the track.

Sanjiv Aggarwal, Divisional Railway Manager, Bengaluru Division, told Deccan Herald, “An internal inquiry has been ordered. But preliminary investigations revealed that some miscreants had placed boulders or some heavy objects, which led to two wheels of the locomotive being lifted off the track.

“There are no CCTV cameras on the stretch. In the past, stone-throwing incidents have been reported several times on this stretch. We are making efforts to counsel people of the area,” he said. Aggarwal ruled out the possibility of the engine driver being at fault.

Panic gripped passengers in the train and those at the station when the locomotive of the train - which had left Bengaluru City station at about 9.15 am - suddenly derailed. The railway authorities roped in extra staff to bring the engine back on track.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)