No winter session in Belgaum this year

No winter session in Belgaum this year

Briefing reporters after the meeting, Higher Education Minister V S Acharya said the session will conclude on December 16. The government has dropped its earlier proposal to hold the winter session in Belgaum as the State legislature house, “Suvarna Soudha”,  in the border city is still under construction.

The Cabinet also rejected a proposal to hold a minimum of 100 sittings of the legislature every year. The present law mandates that the legislature meet at least for 60 days every year. The Cabinet also rejected a proposal made by MLC K C Kondaiah in the Upper House to revive department related subject committees to discuss demand for grants.

The Cabinet accepted a report of the Lokayukta which found no evidence of lapses in purchase of drugs by the health and family welfare department during 2009-10.

A complaint had been filed with the Lokayukta that the Transparency Act had been violated during the purchase of drugs, especially IV fluids, to the tune of Rs 50 crore.

Other Cabinet decision
* Karnataka Organic Farming Mission to be revived as Amarthabhoomi Yojane with a larger scope and greater participation of farmers
* Amendment to Karnataka Judicial Services (Appointment) Rules-2004 to provide for earmarking of 10 per cent district judges posts to civil judges, who have put in five years of service
* Approval of Rs 8.21 crore for construction of Public Works Offices in Hassan
* Administrative approval for Flood Control Programme in Shimoga, Holenarasipura and Mudhol, a project funded by the Centre
* S Madeswaran, Special Officer (Evaluation), Planning Department to be given the rank of Secretary to Government
* Planning Regulation Board headed by chief secretary constituted to monitor projects under Karnataka State Highways Improvement Project - 2
* Administrative approval for land acquisition for four laning of NH-206 between Tumkur and Honnavar at a cost of Rs 19.76 crore
* Administrative approval for drainage system in Bagepali (Rs 17.79 cr), Chitradurga (78.47 cr), Hiriyur (Rs 10 cr) and Lakshmeeshwara (Rs 22 cr)

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)