Students debate over issues at State-level youth parliament

Students debate over issues at State-level youth parliament

Students debate over issues at State-level youth parliament

High school students from various schools donned the role of student parliamentarians and debated over several issues at the State-level youth parliament competition that was held here on Monday.

As many as 68 high school students from different districts who had emerged winners at the district-level youth parliament competition, took part in the event.

Bhargavi Shabaraya from SDM school, Ujire, donned the role of the chief minister and Vinay K from GHS school in Shivamogga enacted as the law minister. The other young parliamentarians donning the roles of home minister, members of the ruling and opposition parties, discussed various issues such as the Yettinahole project, anti-superstition bill, power crisis, among others.

The students also enacted a play in front of Law and Parliamentary Affairs Minister T B Jayachandra, who seemed impressed with their spontaneity and speaking skills.

Addressing  students, Jayachandra said that the objective of holding a youth parliament competition is to enable students gain knowledge about parliamentary procedures and on how the democracy functions.

“While here the young parliamentarians discussed various issues at length, it is disappointing that in actual parliament sessions, not enough time is given to discuss issues. Due to this, sometimes laws are passed in a hurry and only after it is implemented, we get to know the loopholes in these laws. The problems affecting the common man should be highlighted more,” he said.

Students were judged based on their speaking skills, confidence, spontaneity, knowledge of the issues, among others. Meghana M, a class 10 student of the Government High School, Pandavapura (Mandya), was awarded the first prize.

Bhargavi Shabaraya and Vidya R Hanchinamani from Haveri won the second and third prizes respectively. Akshata Hegde of New English School in Honnavara and Deepashri R Soundarya from MGM Girls High School, Madhugiri came fourth and fifth.

Before the event, the students paid tribute to former president APJ Abdul Kalam, writer MM Kalburgi and other eminent personalities who passed away last year by observing one minute of silence. The event was organised by the Department of Parliamentary Affairs and Department of Public Instruction.