IndiGo signs one-way codeshare pact with Qatar Airways

Representative image. (AFP Photo)

IndiGo and Qatar Airways on Thursday announced a one-way code-share agreement as the two airlines look to expand their footprint globally.

As per the agreement, Qatar Airways will be able to place its code on IndiGo flights between Doha and Delhi, Mumbai and Hyderabad starting Thursday.

This is IndiGo's second code-share agreement after Turkish Airlines, which the domestic airliner said will not be in conflict with the code-share with Qatar Airways.

“The strategic alliance will not only strengthen our international operations but also boost economic growth in India, by bringing in more traffic and heralding opportunities for trade and tourism through seamless mobility,” Rononjoy Dutta, Chief Executive Officer of IndiGo told reporters here.

Dutta cited technical difficulties in placing its code on Qatar Airways flights given its code-share agreement with Turkish Airlines. “A lot of systems works needs to be done,” Dutta said.

Qatar Airways CEO Akbar Al Baker said every IndiGo traveller will receive the same amenities Qatar Airways offers to its economy class passengers, including baggage alliance.

Al Baker described India as the world's largest aviation market and urged the government to ease the restrictions for foreign players in the sector to pave way for economic growth, enhancing tourism and creation of jobs.

Dutta said IndiGo's expansion plans will not affect the code-share with Qatar Airways as the homegrown airliner was looking at direct flights from India to European destination using the long haul planes it has ordered from Airbus.

Last week, IndiGo ordered 300 Airbus A320neo family planes, including a long-range version of the single-aisle A320neo family, called the A321XLR.

At present, IndiGo has a fleet of over 200 aircraft and offers close to 1,500 daily flights and connects 60 domestic and 23 international destinations.

Qatar Airways operates 102 weekly flights between Doha and 13 destinations in India, including Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Goa, Hyderabad, Kochi, Kolkata, Kozhikode, Mumbai, Nagpur and Thiruvananthapuram.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)