Infosys Prize 2010 winners announced

Last Updated 25 October 2010, 12:32 IST

The foundation today announced the names of the winners recognising their outstanding contribution to scientific researches that have impacted the country.
Chetan was chosen for the award for life sciences for his pioneering work in understanding the interactions of the malarial parasite and its host, leading to the development of a viable malaria vaccine.

The winners would be awarded a sum of Rs 50 lakh each, a citation certificate and a gold medallion. The award ceremony would be held on January 6, 2011, in Mumbai where the Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh will be present, it was announced at a press conference here.

Professor Chandrashekhar Khare (from Mathematics Department, University of California, Los Angeles) won the prize in Mathematical Sciences. Prof. Sandip Trivedi (from Theoretical Physics Department, TIFR, Mumbai) bagged the award in the category of Physical Sciences.

Prof. Ashutosh Sharma (from Chemical Engineering Department, IIT, Kanpur) was selected for the award in the category of Engineering and Computer Science.
The award in the category of Social Sciences is shared by Professor Amita Baviskar (from Sociology Unit, Institute of Economic Growth, Delhi) for Sociology and Professor Nandini Sundar, Sociology Department, Delhi School of Economics, for Social Anthropology.

The winners were chosen by jury panels comprising eminent scientists and professors from across the globe, including Nobel laureate Professor Amartya Sen. N R Narayana Murthy, Trustee of the Infosys Foundation said, "Scientific Research is the key to sustaining India's growth and it is critical for India to ensure that research remains an attractive profession for the nation's finest minds.

He said the Infosys prize aimed at recognising and acknowledging outstanding work done by researchers, creating role models and thereby encouraging the youth to pursue careers in scientific research.

"Very little respect and recognition is given to the heores of imagination and high thinking and we need to undo the damage," he said. The corpus of the prize has been increased from Rs 45 crore to Rs 100 crore, he said, adding it would now also be open to Indian origin individuals anywhere in the world doing excellent work.

(Published 25 October 2010, 12:32 IST)

Follow us on