Cong members stage protest against BJP

Cong members stage protest against BJP

Members of the District Congress Committee staged a protest in front of the deputy commissioner’s office on Thursday, accusing the BJP of carrying out horse trading to topple the coalition government in the state.

They took out a rally from Gandhi Maidan to the deputy commissioner’s office, shouting slogans against BJP state president B S Yeddyurappa, MP Prathap Simha and the BJP MLAs.

MLC Veena Acchaiah alleged that the BJP has been luring MLAs from the Congress and the JD(S).

“Although the coalition government, headed by Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy, has been providing good administration, the BJP is attempting to come to power through unfair means. In a shameful act, the MLAs from Kodagu, who were supposed to address the woes of natural calamity victims in the district, have taken shelter in a resort outside the state,” she criticised.

District Congress Committee president Shivu Madappa said that the MLAs from the BJP have not been contributing to the development of the district in any way.

City Municipal Council president Kaveramma Somanna, leaders Abdul Razak, Chummi Devaiah, Tennira Maina and Nandakumar took part in the protest.

Congress leaders took out a protest rally from the taluk office to Hanumantappa Circle in Chikkamagaluru town on Thursday, opposing ‘Operation Kamala’ by the BJP.

All India Congress Committee member B M Sudeep rode a horse to protest in a unique way, symbolically protesting the horse trading that the Congress is accusing the BJP of carrying out.

Speaking on the occasion, District Congress Committee president Dr D L Vijay Kumar said that the JD(S) and the Congress have formed a post-electoral coalition in the state, in order to constitute the government, as the BJP had failed to prove its majority. “By alluring the Congress leaders with money, the BJP leaders have insulted the Constitution. The Congress leaders, however, have not fallen prey to such tactics but have remained faithful to the party,” he stressed.

By alluring Congress leaders with money, BJP leaders have insulted the Constitution. However, the Congress leaders have not fallen prey and remained faithful to the party, he said.

KPCC general secretary Gayatri Shantegowda criticised the BJP for having confined its MLAs to a resort. “The senior leaders of the BJP do not have faith in their MLAs,” she said.

KPCC general secretary M L Murthy, leaders A N Mahesh, M C Shivananda Swami, Hiremagaluru Puttaswamy and Rekha Huliyappa Gowda were present during the protest.