Polls to BBMP Standing committees on Oct 30

Polls to BBMP Standing committees on Oct 30

The memo, which was signed by the Mayor S K Nataraj, was dispatched to the Council Secretary to intimate the councillors of the election date. “We have signed and dispatched the circular with regard to the Standing Committees elections which will be held on October 30,” Nataraj said.

With the delay in constituting the Standing Committees, the 11 chairpersons and members for the Committees will hold their office till next October 30. According to the Karnataka Municipal Corporation (KMC) Act of 1976, the term of the Standing Committees will be for a year from the date of its constitution.

However, the Mayor has stated that the term of the 11 standing committees will be determined after consultations with legal experts on the matter. “Whether it will be for only six months or one year will only be arrived at after discussing with legal experts,” the Mayor said.

Subsequent to the decision, hectic parleys have started over whether the senior party leaders or the first timers will get the positions of the chairpersons for the 11 standing committees. Sources state that depending upon the term of the standing committees, the party will take a call on who will preside as the Chairman of the Committees.

“Shorter the term, first timers may get a chance,” said a BJP source. Currently, only the Taxation and Finance Committee headed by Sunkenhalli Corporator, P N Sadashiva is functioning. The term of the standing committee will end prior to the rest of the 11 committees.

Apart from the Taxation and Finance Committee, the following are the 11 committees to which elections will be held on November 30. The Committees are: Public Health, Town Planning, Major Public Works, Ward-level Public Works, Accounts, Education, Social Justice, Appeals, Horticulture, Markets and Administrative Reforms.