Cong gives up efforts to keep flock together

Cong gives up efforts to keep flock together

The party is on a losing spree after two of its MLAs deserted the party. On Friday, for the relief of the Congress, none resigned. But at least three to four MLAs may resign soon, it is said.

The names of Congress MLAs Malikayya V Guttedar, Baburao Chinchunsur, Satish Jarkiholi, Prakash Hukkeri and Rajashekar Patil are being heard as those who may shift loyalty to the BJP. But none of these MLAs have confirmed or denied it. It is said that BJP leaders have already spoken to Guttedar. The party has agreed to fulfil his demands. But he is not willing to contest the by-elections.

Speaking to Deccan Herald, Guttedar said it is a fact that he is upset being neglected by his party. He had expressed his displeasure in party meetings.

Congress MLAs, after Friday’s protest, returned to their constituencies. They will be back in Bangalore on Monday. Congress legislature party leader Siddaramaiah will convene a meeting on Monday. The party will decide its plans based on the court verdict on the disqualification case, it is said.

No plan

What is the party’s plan to keep its flock together? Siddaramaiah said the party cannot do anything “if the spirit of democracy is killed by the ruling party and greedy MLAs.”

KPCC president R V Deshpande also expressed his helplessness, saying: “What can we do if MLAs resign? They are cheating the party and the people who elected them.”