Maoists raid polling centre, 3 polling officers missing

Heavily-armed Maoists raided the polling centre (116) at Subaigarh in Runisaidpur constituency and burnt down the electronic voting machines besides other materials early this morning before voting began, Superintendent of Police Rakesh Rathi told PTI.
Three polling personnel, presiding officer Baldeo Prasad Yadav, K N Sigh and Satyendra Patel were missing after the incident, Returning Officer for the seat Shivdani Singh said.

Substitute polling materials, including EVMs, and poll personnel were rushed to the booth and voting began as per schedule, Singh said.The Maoists have given a call for election boycott in Bihar.

In another incident, the vehicle of state JD-U minister Dinesh Prasad Kushwaha was attacked allegedly by supporters of an Independent candidate Madhavi Chandra at a place under Minapur Assembly constituency in Muzaffarpur district, official sources said.

While Kushwaha escaped unhurt, his bodyguard was injured in the incident, they said adding the vehicle of ruling BJP nominee Veena Devi too was attacked in Gayghat Assembly constituency in the district, but none was injure

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)